We invite and encourage you to learn more about the different Micronesian Islands. The Micronesian islands are diverse small island groups from about 2,300 miles southwest of Hawaii to about 1,300 miles southeast of Okinawa, Japan and the Philippines to the south.


After World War II, the Kiribati Islands and Nauru Island were assigned to Britain as protectorate. That is way these two island groups have a separate modern history. The rest of the islands were given to the United States of American under the United Nations’ trusteeship agreement called the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, except for Guahan (Guam). The TTPI islands remained under U.S. “protectorate-ship” until the mid 1980’s. The U.N. Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands trusteeship agreement with the USA dissolved in 1979. Since then, the Northern Marianas Islands have become a US Commonwealth; and the rest of the Micronesian islands are “independent” United Nation countries (i.e., the Republic of Kiribati, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Republic of Nauru, Federated States of Micronesia -Kosrae, Pohnpei, Chuuk, & Yap, and the Republic of Palau) except for Guahan (which still remains a U.S. military base).


Republic of the Marshall Islands

Federated States of Micronesia

Northern Mariana Islands

Guahan (Guam)

Republic of Palau


Republic of Nauru