Kaselehlie 🤍 Len Wo 🤍 Iakwe 🤍 Kamawir omo 🤍 Maeuri 🤍 Ranannim 🤍Hafa Adai 🤍 Mogethin 🤍 Alii

United Micronesian Women (UMW) is a registered 501(c)3 non-profit organization made up of a Micronesian women network.


"That they all may be one." (John 17:21)



As a network of Micronesian women, we work together to uplift, empower each other, preserve our unique cultures, and share our professional skills in elementary to higher education.


UMW is starting a "Sewing Class" but needs students and teachers alike. If you have the skills and want to mentor or teach someone with this needed skill, contact us above.


Need a helping hand with clothes and food? Contact us by clicking the link above. UMW Community "Exchange Table" is pictured above, where sisters help out sisters by exchanging slightly used clothes and household items.


The Micronesian islands are made up of diverse small island groups that range between approximately 2,300 miles southwest of Hawaii and about 1,300 miles southeast of Okinawa, Japan to the north, and to the Philippines to the south. Its beautiful islands range from flat coral atolls to mountainous volcanic islands. All of them exotic. Because of its beauty, it has attracted some 'good', some bad, and some extremely ugly colonizers over its history. Its diverse colonization history have included governments of Spain, Germany, Britain, Japan, and United States. Some 'came' since the mid 1500's and some 'left' as late as the 1980's.

To clarify, the mesmerizing Micronesian islands region of the Pacific Ocean is comprised of the following diverse cultural, linguistic, and governmental entities: Kiribati Islands archipelago, Nauru Island, Marshall Islands archipelago, Kosrae, Pohnpei Islands archipelago, Chuuk Islands archipelago, Mariana Islands archipelago, Yap Islands archipelago, and Palau archipelago. Kiribati and Nauru were the only Micronesian islands colonized by Britain, so that is why their history is not included in the U.S. Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands textbooks and history. Except for Guahan, the rest of the Micronesian islands were under the United States of America since 1947, shortly after World War II.

After World War II, the Marshall Islands, Pohnpei (Ponape), (Kosrae) which was still a Pohnpeian Island then, Chuuk (Truk), Northern Mariana Islands, Yap, and Palau became a United States of America protectorate under the United Nations’ trusteeship agreement called the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands (TTPI), except for Guahan (Guam). The islands remained under U.S. “protectorate-ship” until the mid 1980’s. However, in 1979, the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands dissolved. Since then, the Northern Mariana Islands became a US Commonwealth. The rest of the TTPI islands and the rest of the Micronesian Islands became independent United Nation countries (i.e., The Repbulic of Kiribati, The Republic of Nauru, The Republic of the Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, and the Republic of Palau) except for Guahan (which still remains a U.S. military base).

Regardless of the debris and the destruction left behind on its beautiful islands, the people live on. They strive on, thrive on, and live as lively people the best they know how. Not "oppressed, damaged, radiated people" as some history books record, but happy and determined people to not just survive but thrive what comes may! They collectively recognize the transitional period they MUST go through, like any colonized people must go through. Now, hand in hand, with the old, the current, and the new generation, on your shores, they sing in unison and in their native tongues "We shall overcome!"

Would you like to join in the singing? Let's help each other learn of one another. UT OMNES UNUM SINT.